Scarborough Civic Society

LOCATION 8

Newborough Bar and Borough Gaol 1845

Henry Barlow Carter 1804-1868

Additional Information

At the entrance to Bar Street look for the William ‘Strata’ Smith blue plaque. Below Bar Street is the Marks and Spencer store, look for the blue plaque marking the birthplace of Sir Edward Harland, shipbuilder. The Civic Society’s Blue Plaques booklet gives full information about all the blue plaque subjects. The National Westminster Bank on the corner of Huntriss Row and Westborough dates from 1885. J. Hall and F. A. Tugwell were the architects. The building is faced with red terracotta, with an oriel window set in a turret above the chamfered corner. The exterior of the building is completely unaltered and this makes it unique in this part of Scarborough.  No. 11, above H. Samuel the jewellers at the first floor has a demi-lune window in an Art Nouveau style. This was formerly John Rowntree and Sons Cafe (1896). Architects were Stark and Rowntree.

End of Trail 

This is the last of the ‘Paint the Town’ locations.  The trail starts in the North Bay at Peasholm Gap on the sea front but, of course, you can join the trail at any point.  Several of the lecterns are located in the harbour area, walk down Newborough and then Eastborough to locate them on the East Pier, half way along the Old (Vincent’s Pier), on the West Pier and at Burr Bank in the Old Town.